Official name Republic of Azerbaijan

Official language: Azerbaijani

Population: 9, 762 million

Territory: 86,6 thousand square kilometres

Currency: Manat

Capital: Baku[1]


The state power in the Republic of Azerbaijan is based on a principle of division of powers. Azerbaijan is a presidential republic. Head of the State is President, elected for a 5-year term by way of general, direct and equal elections with free, personal and secret ballot. In the Republic of Azerbaijan, the MilliMajlis (Parliament) exercises the legislative power. The judicial power in Azerbaijan is implemented through the courts.

The EU-Azerbaijan Relations are based on Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (PCA) which entered into force in 1999. The PCA provides wide-ranging cooperation for political dialogue, trade, investment, economic matters, legislation and culture. On 13 November, 2016, the Council adopted a mandate for the European Commission and the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy to negotiate, on behalf of the EU and its member states, a comprehensive agreement with the Republic of Azerbaijan. The new agreement should replace the Partnership and Cooperation. Negotiations on the new agreement were launched in 2017. The new agreement will offer a renewed basis for political dialogue and mutually beneficial cooperation between the EU and Azerbaijan.[2]




Azerbaijan is party to drug-related international conventions:


Южный Кавказ

Priority sub region