Official name: Ukraine

Official language: Ukrainian

Population: 47 732 079

Territory: 603 700 square kilometres

Currency: hryvnia (UAH)

Capital: Kyiv



Ukraine is a republic under mixed semi-parliamentary and semi-presidential system with separate legislative, executive, and judicial branches. The President is elected by popular vote for a 5-year term and is the formal head of state. Ukraine's legislative branch includes the 450-seat unicameral parliament, called “Verkhovna Rada”. The parliament is primarily responsible for the formation of the executive branch and the Cabinet of Ministers (Government), headed by the Prime Minister. However, the President still retains the authority to nominate the Ministers of the Foreign Affairs and of Defence for parliamentary approval, as well as the power to appoint the Prosecutor General and the head of the Security Service. The judicial power is implemented through the courts.

Ukraine is a priority partner for the European Union, also within the EU's Eastern Partnership. An Association Agreement, including a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA) between the EU and Ukraine entered into force on 1 September 2017. Visa-free travel for Ukrainian citizens with biometric passports entered into force on 11 June 2017.[1]



Ukraine is party to drug-related international conventions:



Hosted Activities